Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 89

    Day 23

    October 12, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 50 °F

    I didn't sleep well last night. Maybe it was the coyotes howling in the background.

    I woke up to a flat tire. There was no hole in the tube, so I just filled it with air, and kept an eye on it all day. It did fine. I'm not sure what happened.

    The traffic was bad today, but I got lucky and found a road that took me off the highway for about 25 miles. Such a beautiful ride until till I had to climb. I'm getting better at it, but I still don't have to like it.

    I crossed the Nevada state line. Yay! I'm in my third state. As I head east towns will become spaced further apart. I'm a little nervous about that.

    The length of my ride today put me on either side of Reno. I didn't want to try to find a place to camp there, also i hadn't had a shower in almost 5 days I decided to get a room. The cheapest I found was $40 a night at Harrah's. Hard to say no to that, so I got the room for 2 nights. I decided to take a long break. I am relieved of riding all day tomorrow.

    I checked in around 4. Got a room on the 17th floor. I have a pretty nice view.

    The first thing I did was soak in the tub. Then downstairs to find food. My husband convinced me to spoil myself with the all-you-can-eat buffet. A fantastic idea after not having had much real food.

    Tomorrow I will spend the day doing laundry, bike maintenance, and exploring Reno on foot. Can't wait to not ride a bike!
    Read more