Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    Day off

    October 13, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 54 °F

    It was so nice to wake up and realize that I didn't have to go anywhere. I got Starbucks, did laundry, walked down the river walk, and Midtown. Reno is actually a nice little city.

    I also booked a flight for Hillary and Avery to come home in early December. I am really excited about that! He is already getting so big. :(

    Not being on a bike for one day was good. A hot shower and a bed to sleep in was great. However, I am ready to get back to the middle of nowhere. Even if that means a shower only once a week, or sleeping on a half inch thick foam mat on the ground. I really love it.

    I finished the night with some gear organizing , and bike maintenance. I'm getting to know my bike, and how to fix stuff, but there's plenty that I need to learn. Hopefully I won't have any major problems I can't figure out. Duct tape fixes everything, right?

    As anxious as I am to get back on the road, I am not looking forward to the over 2,000 miles of elevation I am going to have to climb, in a short distance, first thing in the morning.

    Tomorrow before I leave town, I am going to find some fresh baked donuts to fuel my trek up that hill. Then that will be the last of my indulgent rest in Reno.
    Read more