Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 92

    Day 25 :

    October 15, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌬 64 °F

    I had 12 easy miles leaving Reno, then I had to climb 6,826 feet to Geiger summit.These inclines keep getting bigger and bigger.

    In hindsight donuts and chocolate milk were a terrible idea to fuel my ride up that hill.

    After the struggle, I had a nice easy downhill ride into a great little town that never left the 1800's, Virginia city. I wish it would not have been so late in the afternoon, I would have liked to have spent more time there. I definitely would like to go back and stay for a couple of days.

    I had a quick burger at one of the saloons in town, then I headed for six mile Canyon Road. I had to go down a steep hill to get to it, and once there, the road was closed for repaving. I was not going back up that steep hill, so I took my chances.

    The road had been freshly black topped, and evidently just recently finished. The ride through the canyon was completely downhill, and absolutely beautiful. I had it all to myself.

    I should have listened to my instinct and found a place to camp on that road, but instead I pushed a little further to Silver springs. There was supposed to have been a Nevada State Park, but when I got there there was nothing but someone's yard. Darn you Google maps!!!

    I was extremely frustrated. It was getting late in the day and the wind was really picking up. I ended up having to find a spot in an empty lot off the side of the road. Since there's not really any trees I was in the open. First time I've really been scared to camp on my own, and the road noise is terrible. I'm not sleeping much tonight.
    Read more