Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Bagan

    November 20, 2017 in Myanmar ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    As if the temples of Bagan were not enough to blow your mind, try an early morning balloon flight. For me this was one of the highlights of the trip. To see the plain of Bagan and its thousands of temples in the early morning light just left me dumbstruck.

    A small group of intrepid travellers huddled together at reception in the pitch dark waiting to be picked up at our designated time. Our transport was a World War II Chevrolet bus partly made of teak which seemed a fitting vehicle to transport us to such a unique experience.

    Our pilot turned out to be a very charismatic Italian who told us stories and kept us safe. I was glad that I opted for the premium experience. With only 8 people in the basket, we all had great views and could take heaps of photos (and we did). Landing was perfect and breakfast with champagne was special. It's an experience I know I'll never forget.

    I spent my extra days in Bagan in the hands of a local guide and driver who took me to all the places I wanted to see. It was a worthwhile investment and not expensive by any means. I visited Mt Popa, to see how people still pay their respects to the Nats (just in case) and spent time at more of the temples than I probably would have managed on my own.

    The unique frescoes and amazing architecture had me snapping many more photos than I normally would - all of it was so photogenic. I couldn't help myself. While the insides of the temples were spectacular, so were the beautiful exteriors – stone carvings and intricate towers – each one with its own unique and special beauty.

    Staying at the Hotel at Tharabar Gate was also worthwhile - it gave me a little bit of luxury after those homestays and tent and the hike and I found an amazing inexpensive vegetarian restaurant, The Moon, just across the road. What an amazing few days.
    Read more