Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    The Final Curtain

    October 2, 2019 in England ⋅ 🌙 7 °C

    Well, it’s done. I’m back in London on my way home. We walked 280km in the end not including sightseeing or the occasional detour when we couldn’t understand the instructions – some things were lost in translation, literally!

    Was it worth it? Absolutely! Would I do something like this again? Not a chance! We met some amazing characters from all over the world. We suffered sore feet (thankfully only one blister on the last day) got very very wet on one day and pretty wet on a couple of others.

    We had fog, rain, drizzle and sunshine. We walked through trellises of grapevines and saw the biggest pumpkins I’ve ever seen in my life. There were beautiful forests and ancient monuments and more and more pilgrims as we got closer to Santiago.

    I couldn’t begin to describe how it felt to walk into the cathedral square on the last day of the walk. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and the place was full of people who had walked or cycled from France, Portugal and the centre of Spain. Some travelled a hundred kilometres while others did eight hundred or more and everyone had a smile on their face even if they limped into the square.

    It’s been an amazing trip and I’m glad I did it. Buon Camino!
    Read more