Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    A Pilgrim's Progress

    September 27, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Well, we have 3 days to go and it's been quite an experience. I don't think I had any idea what I was getting myself into.

    We set off in high spirits on a grey foggy day from the outskirts of Porto, barely able to see the Atlantic Ocean pounding only a few metres away. Porto was beautiful but very crowded with tourists.

    For the last 9 days we've really not seen too many pilgrims on the road but now that we've reached the confluence of the Spanish Camino there are a more of us. I expect that as we enter Santiago there will be hundreds.

    We've only had two wet days so far - the first was drowned rat territory - we staggered into the hotel dripping wet. Today was drizzle for most of the morning but it was easy walking mostly through forest.

    We've navigated major roads, walked through medieval villages, traversed eucalyptus and pine forests and followed stone walls hundreds of years old.

    My feet hurt, my shoes are wet and I'm glad that we're nearly there. It's been quite an experience and we've met so many amazing people from around the world. I must be crazy to do something like this and pay for privilege. But you all know me. I love a challenge. I'm just glad we have a hot shower and warm bed at the end of every day (oh, and the food is pretty good too)!
    Read more