Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    My Plane Peeps

    May 9, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    What are you hoping to learn about yourself as a leader on this trip?

    From the Philadelphia service learning trip there were a multitude of lessons that were offered throughout the entire trip’s course – whether intended or not. From observing various leaders in the Philadelphian communities, to working with others, to learning the ways of the city, these lessons will prove as valuable experiences that I can reflect and recall on in my future of continual leadership learning. I want to emphasize this “continual learning” in that the experiences of working and observing others in the leadership process serves as an ongoing and lifelong journey that I know I will always be faced with. Moreover, what I am most longing to learn about myself as a leader on this trip is how to be aware of my own emotions and actions that can positively affect those around me. From previous experiences, I know that I am an individual to allow my emotions and feelings get the best of me. I hope to learn how to take these and use them for the betterment of myself and those around me. Additionally, I am hoping to learn more about my teammates. As a transfer student to Southwestern College, I can honestly say that I have not felt as welcomed or accepted into the Leadership Team as I would have liked. This trip will hopefully serve as a possibility for me to create new connections and friendships with my teammates, and to discover the purpose behind my desire to better my leadership skills on the Leadership Team specifically.Read more