Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Landed and ready to go to the place

    October 14, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Brenda hooking us up with Uber

    Customs was super easy.

    Most of it was electronic since we have the passports with the chip. You go to a self serve station, scan the passport, answer a couple of questions. No, I haven't been to Africa in the last 30 days . . . and then go to another station that takes your ticket and does a facial compare live with what they have for your passport.

    On the customs question card, I was able to answer "no" to 10 out of 11 questions. The only one that I was unsure about was the food question. The only food I had with me were a couple of pre-packaged Cliff Bars. Talked to a roving helper at baggage claim and he stamped an "ok" stamp on it. When talking to the nice lady at check in, she asked about it and I told her about the Cliff Bars. She was totally unconcerned and let me through "no worries". Brenda was right behind me and had no issues either.

    We thought there might be another checkpoint to go through but that was the last one.

    Brenda did try and take some pictures before being done with customs and apparently that's some sort of no-no, so she was asked to stop. Hence the only picture at the airport that we have is the one of Brenda taken AFTER exiting customs :-)
    Read more