Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Pompei

    September 3, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    Now, we're going to be out of order a bit. I've gotten a little behind on my notes. So let's catch up with day four.

    As we put the Almalfi coast in our memory banks and traveled to Naples, I have to mention our driver Franco because he gave us a completely relaxing ride --- devoid of adventure. How very unusual.

    Pompeii
    Ruins.... hey, let's have some fun. Let's go look at some ruins..... No, not really my thing. Not at the top of my list. Then why would I come to Italy? They've got more ruins than just about anywhere in the world.
    Rome is one thing but Pompeii?? Pompeii had been buried by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in about 70 AD. Twenty feet of volcanic ash covered and preserved the ancient city.
    I was willing to give it a try - but I had an exit plan.

    I must confess, I get wowed by the most unusual things. We were wandering through this ancient city, walking down the stone streets about 30 minutes in, I'm interested but only mildly, when Amy warns me to watch my step. She didn't want me to stumble on the rut in the road. I looked down and it hit me. A rut cut in stone. The rut was an inch and a half deep (the thickness of a 2x4). A rut worn into the stones --- into the stones!!!, by chariots!!! WOW!!! From that point on, I was seeing things differently.

    Amy already had the vision. We were walking down the streets seeing condominiums from 2000 years ago. About every 100 feet you see a streetfront shop or restaurant. And we look inside one of dwellings, a storefront shop with living quarters in back. In the back we see an upper area, a loft. I am reminded of the series "The Chosen". A scene depicting Mark Chapter 2. Jesus Forgives and Heals a Paralytic. Friends lower a man through the roof. Some children are gathered on a loft area watching. This is what I saw in my mind when I saw this particular shop. This one vision (with the help of the Bible and a mini-series) painted a picture of life in this city in my mind.

    Imagine our modern cities, with stores, laundries, restaurants, fish markets, stadiums, parks and public drinking fountains. It’s all here.

    The stadiums are built with bricks then topped with smooth slabs of marble for seating. There were several stadiums. This particular stadium we toured seated 20,000 people.
    The vastness of the city, built mostly of man-made bricks. The streets paved in large flat stone, complete with gutters, curbs and speed bumps.

    The Frescos painted inside the homes of the wealthy. And condo-styled mansions (the largest 32,000 Sq ft). There were some mosaic floors, and some floors were smooth concrete floors with small tile accents --- Small tiles evenly spaced out decorating their domicile --- even before HGTV!

    The ‘Roman Columns’ are layered. They make curved bricks and mortar them into a column. Then they put thick layers of cement over the brick, and molded the cement with contours. The cement was made by heating the marble then grinding the marble it into a dust.

    We had seen many dwellings before we saw the art. It was not everywhere, so when we happened upon our first fresco, it was surprising. It took Amy's breath away. Your insides warm up a bit. 10 minutes later, we walk into a home with a mosaic entry. And a few minutes after that, a home with multiple dining rooms and parlors and mosaic floors throughout and walls covered in paintings.

    Is it silly? Am I impressed by trivial things. Maybe, but these people, even those of a modest lifestyle had marble countertops 2000 years before we were using Formica. Just sayin'.
    We only had 3 hours. Could spend days. Next time will have a guide to bring it to life for us.
    Read more