Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Tashkent here we come!

    September 12, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    This trip to Uzbekistan has been booked (and anticipated) for over a year and now it is here. Ted and I have had a glimpse of what is to come by watching Joanna Lumley doing her Silk Road TV programs tracing the Eurasian trade routes of yesteryear from Venice to China, Uzbekistan being but one of the stops on the way. Whilst I cannot hope to emulate the model-like and designer-clad Joanna in any way I will endeavour to provide you, dear Readers, with fascinating facts and fabulous photos over the next 10 days.
    Liam kindly dropped us off at East Didsbury station for the 05.36 to Manchester Airport. After a short Indian Summer, the UK is back to seasonal norms and it was raining cats and dogs. Usually, on these trips, there is a problem caused by Ted at Security (devotees of the blogs will recall the bullet in the case at Hanoi Airport or the screwdriver in Ted’s hand luggage at Delhi) but this time the body scanner identified a “problem” with my right leg. “Oh yes” said I, with a disarming smile, “it’s my new hip!” But no, it was my knee causing the problem 😳 The offending knee was gingerly patted down and swept over with the wand before I was reluctantly released and we were allowed to fly on our merry way to Heathrow. Two small eggs Benedict later, (honestly couldn’t afford the larger version!) and a bit of a wait before we met Georgina, our Great Railway Journeys tour leader in Terminal 4.
    Read more