Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Khiva

    September 15, 2023 in Uzbekistan ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I’m not quite sure why Find Penguins thinks we were in Kazakhstan yesterday - we weren’t…I think it’s probably because we must have flown over their airspace so it automatically assumed we went there.
    However, after the horrendously noisy but hilarious dinner show last night, with lots of Russian-looking men dancing madly with the “turn” and downing many shots of vodka, we returned to our cells to attempt to sleep on the rigid, board-like beds! Some (mostly male) members of the group said they slept well…. I don’t know how! On the other hand, this is a very clean, peaceful and traditional hotel which is an experience in itself though I do find myself wishing wistfully this afternoon that there was a gorgeous pool in the gorgeous courtyard!
    Shakira (our guide) conducted us about Khiva on a 4-hour walking tour, punctuated by coffee in the middle. We explored the Icahn Kala, Khiva’s walled inner town and the oldest part of the city. This once mighty fortress with its 4 gates is very awe-inspiring. It is like a vast open-air museum which has UNESCO World Heritage status due to its historical monuments, including the Djuma Mosque, its mausoleums and two magnificent palaces…… having said all that, I can’t remember half of what she said! 😬
    At lunchtime we all parted company (here is where a pool would have been a very welcome but incongruous sight in our courtyard) so we went in search of lunch, taking a group member with us whose husband had gone walkabout!
    Had a couple of hours to ourselves this afto. It is possible to “walk the walls” at 5pm but Ted and I have wimped out of this as the health and safety experience is reportedly iffy and with my recent mishaps plus the cobbles, steep steps and uneven surfaces I think I better not do…… 😕 Earlier in the day Ted ascended some extremely steep stairs, which I daren’t do, to take some pics from a walls viewing area so I will add these now.
    PS Also posting a photo someone took of how steep the steps were up to the wall …. So glad I didn’t do it!
    Read more