Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 67

    Dinner at Auros

    October 4, 2021 in France ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I am making 2 entries today, as too many photos for one…only 6 allowed per footprint. So will make this one about our dinner last night at the restaurant. It was so good. Classy, beautiful food, beautiful wine. This is probably THE dinner of Amr’s birth week! The dinner was included in our walking package, and we were allowed the €28 menu, but we “splurged” and went for the €34, paying the extra €12, plus wine. We have always found the value in restaurants here amazing - you couldn’t get a 3 course meal of this calibre in Oz for $55.

    So we started with chiperons in parsley (Amr) and salmon marinated in dill (me), then Amr had a sword fish main and I had another version of chiperons in a sauce. For dessert Amr had an ice cream tiramisu, and I had a sort of deconstructed pavlova….it presented as a little portion of cream, and a portion of fruit in what looked like a little pot, till I realised that this was the meringue…glad I didn’t leave it! Both were amazing. And we had a bottle of a great local red.
    A great night.

    It was cold and I even wore my down jacket for the first time walking to and from the restaurant , but the heaters were on in our room and happily my shoes completely dried by the morning. We actually had to turn off the heaters in the middle of the night as it got too hot. Woke to a beautiful cloudless day, perfect for walking, and set off soon after 8.30, after breakfast cooked by Julien the French husband. He made little pancakes which was a change, but I must say I missed the usual croissants and baguette. It was probably the American influence! Now we are here at Bazas and I will make another entry for our walk today.
    Read more