Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    A few variations in hospital

    May 6, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Amr came quite early as we set up ourselves to watch the pageantry of the coronation. A fun diversion and they certainly do their pageants well. It was on Spanish TV and we also watched and listened to it on Amr’s iPad. So that kept us amused for hours! You republicans out there mightn’t agree, but it sure is a historic spectacle and fabulous music!

    Otherwise usual hospital report: I have been promoted to semiblanda! For this 5pm snack, instead of a cup of tea I got a slab of queso fresca and little packs of quince paste to go with it. And for lunch I had yogurt as well as the usual bland stuff! All stays down and I feel hungry so I think all good signs! Surgeon still hope for Monday discharge. The 5pm offering is to keep you going till dinner at 8.30…so must try and stay up till then!

    One frustration is that the nurses all wear masks and it is SO difficult to know who is who…some are obvious, but I have no idea what they really look like. We had the nice team on today and Amr was given a delicious lunch!

    So Amr is now out in the world and said he plans to have a proper dinner at a nice place he found…meanwhile he is kindling till the dinner hour and came across a group singing…he sent short video which I’ll try to include.

    Think that’s all… we did almost 2 kms circuiting the corridors.. my rather weird room mate has returned…she is a very noisy talker and I don’t get a single word she says. She gets my few words and we are amicable, but she constantly has her tv on as background- not always watching- and she snores ferociously!!! Amr brought me eyeshades for the tv flicker, and a nurse gave me ear plugs… wish me luck!!
    Read more