Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    A boring report!

    May 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    So little to say today…the big excitement of the day was I’ve been promoted to semiliquid diet and actually had broth, puréed pumpkin and a cooked pear for lunch…wow…good thing is I feel hungry and eating has not given me nausea…all good signs. One funny thing I must relate: this is Spain, and hospital times are so different - the first human contact in the morning is about 8.30, then breakfast at about 9-9.30. Lunch 1-1.30, cup of tea (prob with cake or biscuit but I don’t rate for that) at 5.15 or so, and dinner at 8-8.30. So contrasting - by 8 o’clock in Oz I remember starting to settle people down for the night!

    Perfect Amr has been here all day…together we have walked 2 kms round the corridors (don’t worry, at a very slow pace) and this is recommended …so doing all the right things. Also Amr has had a frustrating day dealing with insurance red tape…they want docs from here about exactly what happened on admission , and a release signed by me, which I have done, so that my GP can release my records to them…all understandable but tedious, especially as this is Friday and admin is open 9 - 2pm Mon to Fri…anyway, he has been speaking to the insurance people, emailing and found a social worker here who understood and was very helpful and with whom he says he is actually in love!! - Amr liking a social worker!!! Trouble is the hospital wants a GOP form (guarantee of payment) before we go, and being the weekend who knows how long it will take….but we still hope to escape Monday, and get a bus to León on Monday or Tuesday.

    Today we did not have the friendly morning staff of yesterday and Amr was not presented with lunch…so he’s off now, and I hope he has a good meal, and he says he needs a stiff drink! Only photo is my lunch, as not even sightseeing to report.
    Read more