Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 136

    New chapter

    February 16, 2023 in New Zealand

    Hmm, I feel like I should write an update again but I just don't feel like I have the inspiration. May sound a bit dramatic but I feel like without it everything I write sounds shit. Let's see how it goes...

    Kia Ora,

    It's another day in the capital of New Zealand. Nothing major happening, had a good hot chocolate and im still picking on my brownie that's delicious but nonetheless more moist dough than anything else. I wonder if if it's meant to be that way.

    Right now I'm sitting on some part of the wharf, here in Wellingtons harbour and I don't know what it is exactly I'm doing... I guess I just am and see how that feels. Not really anything left on my bucket list for this place.

    The last few weeks since arriving here, I've been working in the bird rehabilitation trust, but less than I originally thought I would. Well I had some pretty unrealistic ideas of how it would be. Of course it was mostly just cleaning up the cages hence cleaning up poopoopooandmorepoo. Some feeding for the younger chicks and some cleaning up the birds themselves but that happend fairly rarely (that can't be proper English).
    Still, it was nice being around all these birds, especially the two lorikeets, love those little minxes!

    So most of my time there was a mix between doing some paid labor work in the huuuuuuge gardens surrounding the house that Craig and Julie (the owner of the bird rehab) live in and lots of hanging around because I'm an unmotivated piece of shüt. I want this to be a new word. Sounds like a nicer swear word.

    Well I spiced it up with some hiking and exploring around makara Beach and opau bay, some surfing and amazing talks with max and ohohoh I have a new buddy now!!! His name is Lenny and we bonded really well over some mutual scratching. Im not sure though if we'll stay in contact, don't feel like he'll call me. I don't think horses are known for their loyal, long distant friendships.

    Anywayyys...

    Uuh yeah and I got trapped by some pc game that just got released. But in my offense, it's a harry potter world... And when it comes to that I'm still a little child and I pray to heaven and hell that I always will be. Would be interesting what party would answer that pray, theoretically, dunno, whatever. So yeah hogwarts legacy is out, niiice graphics, action, good story in my opinion, lots of options and challenges, a free world experience and the two best things: Magical beasts aaaand flying... A-maz-ing!

    Okay, I'm straying a bit from the whole new zealand travel topic again.

    During weeding and mulching in the garden I befriended Pierre, a funny kiwi guy, who's back in Dunedin now where he's studying. Pretty sure I'm gonna go down there to visit him and also Max, who's also starting to study there. Heard they have good surf down there too.

    Next up I'll probably head north again though. The two ferry companies seem hooopelessly swamped, the next ticket I could get is for a ferry a month from now, and since I wanted to go and see the Coromandel in summer, I guess I'll head that way for now.

    Two days ago I left my cozy, lonely, little cave in the staff room of the gardeners and finally entered civilisation again. I think I wasn't far from becoming a hermit. Nah jokes aside, i know that its definitely good for me, talking to some people my age again, even though I went to the Te Papa museum with a guy who isnt reeeally my age anymore. Ali is already retired, was still chill though. He gave me some ideas of traveling to the US next, who knows, sounds intriguing!
    The museum was interesting, a lot about the nature and its changes since maoris and the British colonists started intervening.
    And about the maori culture of course.
    I was so fascinated by the moas, they were hunted to extinction by humans 500 years ago but they look like some dinosaur creatures. Kind of a mix between the feathers and belly of a kiwi and the legs, neck and head of an emu. Okay to be fair I just googled emus and they look pretty much like them😂. Still I would have loved to meet one of them. Stupid humans!
    Could weigh up to 240 kg👆 I think that's one of the only facts ive memorized from the whole museum, bummer.
    Ooooooh and there was this maaaaassive squid, uuaah disgusting and faszinating at once, fasgusting, diszinating, noo disgustinating, that's better.

    Hmyeahyeahhm I think that should be about pretty much kind of everything. I'm bored, sorry I get silly with my writing when I'm bored, but whatever people wanted an update, now there is one silly one there here now.

    Truddeldukanguru
    Read more