Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 136

    More photos

    February 16, 2023 in New Zealand

    There's just not enough capacity for all the photos I want to share. And I forgot two things.

    I've been to Zealandia for two days, which is a fenced era shielded off against predators like the possum, a huge plague in New Zealand. It gives birds the chance to rehabilitate, while being able to fly in and out as they please. As far as I know the kiwis are the only exception, as they were brought in to further help their kind recover from near extinction. I didn't meet one sadly since they're night active and the expensive night tours are the only chance to get to see them.
    Still it was an amazing experience! Beautiful landscape, hiking tracks through the bush and loads and loads of native birds that seem so exotic to me. Way more colourful and with such different melodies than what I'm used to from our singing birds back home.

    Secondly, I have been in New Zealand for four months now and there were plenty of earthquakes and I have not felt a single one of them. I find this to be outrageous! And now there was one yesterday with magnitude 6.3, the epizentrum only 60 kilometers away from us and I have not felt A SINGLE THING. Yeah okay, I dont wanna have a house collapsing on me if that's what it takes for me to feel an earthquake but it would still be crazy interesting to experience one.
    I was just out on the street walking and I don't know, maybe you have to be inside a house to feel it with no cars and stuff around but it's said that 6.0 is apparently felt by EVERYONE and is causing a lot of fright and what not . It was even felt in Auckland and that's hundreds of kilometers away. I'm a bit appealed of my senses really...

    Yeah, so far.
    Read more