Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 21

    Ciao Italia

    4 juli 2023, Italië ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Today is our final day in Italy, and it is going to be an anticlimactic end to the trip. We started with a 9am bus to the airport, a 1 hour flight to Naples, a 6 hour stop over, and another 1 hour flight to Split in Croatia. Thus, I will begin the next phase of the trip - the Balkans. I have heard endlessly good things about the Balkans, and so I am eager to see what it is all about. That being said, we start in Croatia, where most of the activities will include chilling by the beach and drinking. We have done a fair bit of partying so far, but I expected more to be honest, so we will see what Croatia holds for us. The only activities I really hope to achieve include the three caves tour recommended by Meliss and Mum as well as wander around the old towns and parks in the area. We arrived late into Split and walked to our hostel to check in. Right off the bat, I could tell this would be one of the nicest hostels that we have stayed in so far. It was clean and spacious, and the ladies at the front desk were incredibly helpful.

    After we finish Split and Hvar, Jack will be heading over to Spain most likely, and I continue my journey through the Balkans on my own. That being said, I may have a friend from work join me for a hike through Albania, Montenegro, and Kosovo. This could work out really well as I plan to track South along the coastline of Croatia (Dubrovnik and Ston potentially), Montenegro, and Albania before tracking back up the mountain regions, north to Slovenia. This would also allow me to see Sarajevo, Plitvice Lakes National Park, and Zagreb. Because she won't be able to join me until August, it should align perfectly. If I manage to collect a spare few days, I may even fit in a couple of days in Corfu. This is only really possible due to accumulating a spare days in Italy and being ahead of schedule. This did come at the cost of the southeast of Italy, but it could be worth it to spend some extra time in other parts of Europe.
    Meer informatie