Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Sveti Stefan

    July 17, 2023 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    I had one more day in Budva before spending a couple of nights in Kotor. This is mostly because the hostel I wanted wasn't available today, so I had to postpone it by a day. Jack had now left me, so I had the day to myself, and the main thing I wanted to achieve was Sveti Stefan. This is something i didn't think Jack would enjoy, so it worked out well to see it once he left. First, I had to get my stuff to the hostel for the night. Although our current accommodation was already quite far up a hill, this hostel was at the very top, and it was incredibly steep. I should have gotten up earlier and tried to avoid the heat, but I was enjoying my sleep too much. Once I battled the hill and drenched myself in sweat, I dropped my bag off and headed toward the beach. Although the walk to Sveti Stefan was long, it had many little beaches to enjoy along the way. That being said, the heat was overwhelming, and in the end, I regretted my decision and probably should have just caught public transport. Beach hopping was fun, and getting to see it the other areas around Budva was cool, but it was too much walking in insane heat. Not to mention, the final product, Sveti Stefan, was very disappointing. I did not learn until it was too late, but the whole island is a resort and so you can only get access by staying a night there. I did not check, but I think it is safe to say it is way out of my budget. I got some good photos, but i was really excited to see it from inside. Oh well, I moved on and found somewhere for an enourmas feed as I was starving after a lot of walking and little eating. However, shortly after my meal, i realised I was late to officially check into my hostel (I had only dropped my bag off and didn't actually get allocated a room). As such, I had to get a rushed taxi to the hostel. This was a succinct end to a long day.Read more