Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Boardwalk Beach

    September 18, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    The journal logs for Lagos will appear to be quite uneventful as it is generally just drinking, waking up hungover, and spending the day at the beach. Even if you aren't hungover, you still just spend the day at the beach. It is very relaxing and a lot of fun, but I have had people tell me that Lagos was their favourite place and I'm not sure I fully understand that. Although it's cool to chill with people from all over the world and drink and have fun, everything you can do in Lagos, you can do in Aus. I would rather have some things to go and do and see during the day, even if I'm hungover. Either way, I needed a bit of a recharge, so I arrived at Lagos at a good time and really did enjoy my stay. I just don't think I could say it is one of my favourite places simply because the location itself doesn't have much in particular. I'm travelling to see the world, not to drink and sit at the beach, though I am glad to have done plenty of both.

    Today, Nina and I began the walk to the same Western beach we went to yesterday but continued a bit further to a beach around the point. It was a great walk, and I'm not sure why we didn't just do it yesterday, but we didn't realise how nice it would be. Around the point, you walked along a boarwalk, which was amazing. The rock formations that existed along the cliff faces made it really cool. The beach was also really nice too, surrounded by 2 enourmas cliffs, you walk between a valley to find your spot on the beach. Although beautiful, there were thousands of these little bugs, like fruit flies. They would harass you and jump all over you and make you itchy and ticklish. To avoid them, we had to find somewhere on the rocks to chill, and it did work. Although less comfortable, it was worth it to escape the bugs. We chilled here quite literally all afternoon before going back and starting to drink again. This night was not as big as Saturday, but it was still a lot of fun. We chilled at the hostel for a bit before I left to catch the kiwis at the pub watching the soccer. When that finished, I had another drink, and I headed back to the hostel. Once I rejoined everyone, we had a few more drinks, and at about midnight, we made tracks toward the club. We went to the same pub as Saturday but it was nowhere near as good. We played a couple of games of pool before trying to find a better club. Although no such luck, we found a rooftop bar where we could sit and chat for a good little while. Eventually, though, we went back to the hostel at about 3:30am. This was another fun night but didn't quite compare to Saturday. Saturday had a really good group of people, and the clubs were all far busier. Either way, it was good and a nice way to say goodbye to Lagos.
    Read more