Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Marina

    October 11, 2023 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    Due to the considerable heat in Dubai and my energy and social battery levels being at an all-time low, I did very little in the mornings. This continued for my trip in Dubai. In fact, this morning, like all others to follow, simply involved talking to friends, catching up on journals, and trying to organise myself for my Africa trip. This was particularly true today as I slept as long as possible and began to scour the Africa itinerary searching for important details I may be missing. In the end, I lounged around until late afternoon when I figured I may be able to find a nice sunset over the Nearby Dubai beaches. Despite staying in a hostel, the area of Dubai was quite high-end and included a nice beach walk. I started here and caught a brief glimpse of the sunset before continuing along the beach. Eventually, though, this transitioned into the dubai marina. This is a major tourist attraction, due to the nice bars and restaurants that flood the marina, with nice yachts and boats offering rides and trips. I walked here for quite a few kms, as it is massive, before looping around and heading back to the hostel for bed. Dinner tonight was KFC as it was actually quite cheap and on my way home. The last photo is the view from my bed within the hostel. Which is very good because I would spend a lot of my time here.Read more