Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Rwanda 🇷🇼

    November 4, 2023 in Rwanda ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    After a big day of gorillas yesterday, I was keen for a chill one today. And that is exactly what I got. Although some went for a short walk to Lake Mutanda, I gave myself an extra sleep in, a bit more time to organise my belongings, and some journaling. Around lunchtime, we headed off to Rwanda to complete the border crossing and arrive at our campsite. This was a relatively smooth operation, not a lot of driving, or waiting, and nice roads. This meant we arrived relatively early to Red Rocks, where they would debrief us what activities were available. Although there were some things that could be completed in the afternoon, it was mostly things like beadmaking, Pottery, etc. There was the option for trying to make banana beer, which was tempting, but I decided I needed a chill afternoon to relax and so laid down for some journaling and reading. Not to mention. The taste of the banana wine was burnt into my brain, and I couldn't imagine a world where banana beer tasted good. After dinner, Vic had mentioned that she had a friend who was also in Ruhengeri, the larger town we were in the outskirts of. Quite strange given we were in the middle of butt fuck in Rwanda, but I figured I would join her to visit. Mostly because I was keen to meet some people outside our group, but also to ensure she would be safe getting to and from. Tensions in the group have really started to boil over in the last few days, and I was keen to escape it and meet some people closer to my age. We had 3 new starters, who are quite a bit older, and they had already created some friction in the group. As such, I was keen to escape it even for the night. So after dinner, we jumped on the back of some scooters and headed into town. We met at a restaurant and had some drinks. There were 3 of them and 2 of us, and they were really cool. We eventually planned to join them at the twin Lakes tomorrow, as no one from our group was very keen, and if we jumped in with them, then we would save a lot of money. After this, we decided we would get a taxi home so that Vic and I didn't have to split up. As soon as we left, we were surrounded by bikes, but we obviously wanted a car. Eventually, we jumped in with 2 young guys because it was cheap, and they seemed nice enough. In the end, we figured that they were likely quite drunk, but the main thing is that we made it back safely and headed to bed.Read more