Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Gardens and Riads

    December 14, 2023 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    It has been a great two weeks on my tour, and placed Morocco toward the top of my all-time favourite travel locations. The tour was very well organised to the effect of minimising long drives, creating unique and diverse experiences, immersing ourselves with the locals, and exploring the authentic Morocco. Along with this, I had an amazing guide, an awesome group, and a stress free couple of weeks. This is my final full day in the African continent, bringing an end to a 66 long day adventure. One I will never forget. But I didn't want to exhaust myself after a big 2 weeks of travel, so I took it pretty easy today. After a sleep in, I went with the rest of the Aussies to the photography museum of Morocco. It was really cool. It gave a photographic context to the local and traditional people that we have spent so much time learning about over the last 2 weeks. The photos were really cool and the dress they wore was very interesting. We spent about an hour here before heading to a riad the other guys had stayed at before the tour started. We only stopped here briefly for some mint tea and biscuits before continuing on. We then went to a really nice restaurant, famous around Morocco, for their traditional Tangia dish. The restaurant has hosted the likes of Gordon Ramsey, and somebody feed Phil. The food was amazing, reasonably priced, and very traditional. After this, I left the rest of the group and wandered the Jardin Majorelle. Although quite interesting and cool, I didn't learn much about it. i.e., who built it or why it exists. It did, however, have a cool museum about the Berber people, the indigenous population of Morocco, originating from southern Spain. Unfortunately, you could not take photos of the exhibit. This is rather disappointing given how much cool and interesting dress was on display. But still, I have attached photos of the garden itself and some of the cool stores. There was also a YSL museum, but as someone not particularly into fashion, I chose not to pay the money. I then sat at a cafe and enjoyed a coffee in the warm Moroccan sun before collecting my things and heading back to the hotel. It was supposed to be a relaxing day, so I chilled in the bed for a couple of hours before our group met for one final dinner altogether. Here, we would be saying goodbye to a couple members of the tour and our tour guide, Aatmane. He was amazing, and the group too. So it was quite sad to say goodbye but had to happen eventually. It brought a sombre mood to a great night, but I'm glad to have been a part of such a great team.Read more