Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5 - Kolob Canyon Taylor Creek Trail

    August 7, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 77 °F

    After leaving campground wanted to stop by the Kolob Creek visitor center to see if I could get my Narrows permit a day early, unfortunately could not. The ranger was super nice and helpful though, gave me info on the hike, what to expect and shuttle info to get from where we end to beginning of hike. This way she said could leave car parked at Zion visitor center overnight and will be there when we get done.

    At this point asked her about hikes in this area and she said one was closed due to sinkhole on the road but the other was a 5 mile out and back with multiple Creek crossings. Originally had considered driving straight to Vegas to hike around Red Rocks but decided to try this trail instead. Glad I did as Temps were in upper 80's here but 100+ in Vegas.

    The hike started out fairly nice, was overall easy as I got farther in though views became amazing as you were right on Canyon walls and criss crossing the creek or walking up it. Very little rain lately so was more of a light stream.

    As I hiked came upon multiple people, asked an older couple if they had done this before, they said no but there friends up ahead had. When I reached them asked them how much further as I was almost 3 miles in already. If left to me I'll just keep walking. They said there was an end point up ahead and you will know it also said they heard but had not seen there was a waterfall nut needed to do some scrambling. I figured as long as no steep climbing or narrow ledges I was fine. Kept going up the dry creek bed at this point, walls on each side, had to climb up a little over rocks but nothing major. Was about to give up when I heard water, came around corner and water was cascading down the mountain side, not a waterfall like in NC, but water coming down. It pooled into an area at the base. Was definitely the end as it was just a little area with the walls going straight up, was well worth it. Then headed back to where I saw others cut up the real trail, this spot was also amazing, like a mini ampitheater, shaded, cool, and amazing views. We're a few hikers here including the couples I talked to, told them indeed there was a waterfall further up. As always the pictures will never do justice of the beauty. By the time I got back had hiked over 7 miles and about 3 hours.
    Read more