Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Cinque Terra

    April 8, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    After more than 48 hours of travel, I finally land in Milan at 7.30am. The 4-time a day train to Monterosso won't depart till mid day. I deposit my bag at Milano Centrale and go for a wonder around Milan. First impression - Milan is messy and feels a bit like Paris. There are armed police around the Station and gypsies are washing their hair from a Public fountain.

    I walk for about 5km and see some interesting Morden residential buildings mixes with typical European architectural ones on the city edge. Overall, Milan feels soulless and cold; a city for flight transfers.

    I squeeze my way through the packed carriage and find my seat next to a window. For the next 3 hours, I am enjoying the sceneries across Italian countryside with the train winding from villages to villages. Some of them are so run down and fill with depressing looking Italians or blacks that I feel like I am in a third world country.

    Suddenly, the right side of the train opens up to an ocean view. As understated as it rides through, I am arriving into the Cinque Terra.

    The weather is perfect when I arrive and many many tourists are crowded to get the train back to La Spitzer. The sandy grey beach is filled with Europeans who have not seen the sun for months! By the time I check-in and pick up Susanna from the station, most of them have left and we get to enjoy the quiet and peace. I even dip into the not so warm Mediterranean Sea for a quick swim - gee, my skin feels rejuvenated after being snapped cold.

    We had drinks at one of the cliff top bars and seafood dinner at one of the the waterfront restaurants. I secretly wish the forecasted rain will never come!

    I end the days with me passing out with a half written whastapp message.
    Read more