Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Bike toue to Valpolicella

    April 14, 2018 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    When we open our eyes this morning, we see rays of sunshine filling our room - what a gorgeous day! Barbara picks us from our flat and we are set to cycle to a famous DOC region - Valpolicella.

    The 28km ride to Valpoicella is flat and along a river; I very much enjoy the journey after the tough Easter rides. Our destination is Tenuta Santa Maria which makes small batch Valpolicillo Ripesse wine. The way they describe the wine making process, Australian wine is nowhere near that kind of details and patience. The end result is mature, smooth and high quality wine that can be cellared for years to come! Although the tour is expensive (£70 pp) I had my best day and would love to do this tour again!

    We then have this amazing worker's lunch - £10 all you can eat veg and one plate of freshly cooked pasta! My eyes sparkle when I see the plates of vegg! Ahh, I don't mind to be an Italian worker at all.

    In the evening, we walk up to the panoramic point again and appreciate the beautiful sunset Verona offers us.

    Since I have the terrible throat ache, I drink lots of water. As a result, I am like an old woman who is constantly looking for toilet and lemon water!
    Read more