Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day of flying angels

    February 24, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    I woke up naturally at 7am, destroying my “dream” of weekend sleep-in. Early birds get the worms, we were rewarded with the tranquil Venice with hardly any tourists wondering around its narrow streets. We were hunting for breakfast. When we reached a pier at Academia, we decided to hop on a ferry and go to the belly belly fin side of Venice just across the grand canal. We found a lovely cafe called Maja that served freshly baked bread and beautiful coffee with a panoramic view of Venice, indoor!

    After the relaxing how-I-like-it Sunday breakfast, we hopped on another ferry to head towards San Marco Square for the most anticipated flying of angels parade. Despite a hugh congestion going into the Square, we got in eventually. The Square wasn’t as crowded as I expected it to be and there were a few vintage points where I could see the angels (last year’s Maria) zip lining down to the stage. There were many many well dressed maskers walking around the Square, attracting attentions and being stopped by photo eager tourists. On the stage, classic Venetian court ball were being performed by seriously dressed performers. We enjoyed how the Venetian respect traditions and carried it up from 10th century till today. It might be age, I am not sure about the wiggly moved that was shown to me on the party boat on the first night when we arrived.

    I had a great city break weekend with everything was perfect. The flight times in and out were perfect - I had enough time for the evening activity after arrival and I got back to Malta at a reasonable time that I did not feel exhausted. Although cold, the weather was crispy with clear blue sky - you can’t ask for more to see the beauty of Venice. Food is nice given we all know Venice is a touristic town. Most importantly, the atmosphere of Carnival gave a great charm to this already charming City.
    Read more