Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Nairobi is bae!

    February 10, 2023 in Kenya ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    As we were exiting the highway to enter downtown Nairobi, I felt the same giddiness as I did when entering New York City. I know the comparison is perhaps a bit much, but when I see skyscrapers and highway bridges, my excitement does not discriminate! While living on a farm for the past 30 days was pure bliss, I now know for a fact that I am just a pure city girl at heart. And boy, what a city Nairobi is!! Bustling, pulsing, breathing, organised chaos and colorfully diverse... Modern to a fault, and undeniably african. While the look was somewhat reminiscent of American cities (well, to me at least!), the feel reminded me more of a "spicy" city like Istanbul. Arusha made me want to retreat, blend in, even their food was understated. Nairobi makes you want to step out and be unapologetically your authentic self... I am digging it! These crazy thoughts were clearly induced by some incredibly delicious and spicy and HOT vegetable stew and honey ginger cinnamon tea... Nairobi is trying to woo me, and as far as I am concerned, Nairobi is bae... My horrendous phone camera and picture taking skills don't nearly do it justice, but I can assure you, this city has got it going on!!!Read more