Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Alaska Day 28 Denali to Fairbanks

    August 3, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 61 °F

    Yes!!!! Crossed another one off my bucket list! Hiked in Denali today! Overcast morning but not raining. A short hike but to a beautiful area near the entrance to the park - Horseshoe Lake. The bus driver yesterday touted this area as a place for waterfowl, moose and beavers. Alice left me off and went to paint while I hiked. An easy 3 mile walk in the woods to a beautiful lake. See pics. Only wildlife I saw was a snow hare, we had seen one yesterday and the bus driver corrected me when I called it a rabbit!! 🙃. But the best site was a spectacular beaver dam. Amazing architecture!
    So then this happened........ I walked back to where Alice was parked in the RV. As I am taking the big step up into the cab, I had my bear spray in the pocket of my jacket and I advertently hit the lever which set it off!!! 🤬👎🤪. That stuff is really vile! Alice got a strong inhale of it and could not breathe right away. Both of us coughing like crazy - we were quite the site for the other folks in the parking lot. After we aired everything out for awhile, I cleaned up the van and bagged my clothes, then it started to be pretty funny. My best comment was. " Never a dull moment!"
    Off for Fairbanks. 130 miles North. The rain really started to come down and we just drove until we were about 5 miles from Fairbanks. Had seen a write up on a jewelry designer - Judie Gumm - whose studio was really off the beaten path. A brief visit, lovely jewelry but not to my taste. Lots of animals/birds. But her studio was in a lovely setting in the woods
    Arrived at the campground which we really like. 👍. Space between sites, grass and trees, and all of the amenities that I have come to think of as necessities in RV travel. Dinner of pasta "in", a walk along the river right out out door and some planning for the next phase of our trip.
    Read more