Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    San Francisco to Amsterdam Days 1 & 2

    April 26, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 48 °F

    Fast and easy overnight trip to Amsterdam. Left SFO a bit late but made up most of it during the night. Left SF around 4P and arrived Amsterdam around 11A their time. (9h ahead of CA time). A bit over 10 hour flight.

    Had reviewed the public transport in Amsterdam. Very robust with trains, trams,buses and ferries. Took a train from the airport to the Central Train Station into the heart of the City. Then a tram to the address to pick up the keys to my apartment and another tram to the address of the apartment.

    My place is about 1.5 miles from City Center, a 10-15 minute tram or bus ride. It’s in a residential area, lots of kids, strollers and dogs. 😀. When I rented the place I think I remember reading that it was on the 3rd floor. Totally forgot until I started to carry my 7 week suitcase and large back pack up the 60 stairs! 🤣. Yep, no elevator. However, always a silver lining - it’s on the top floor and has tons of windows and light.

    Spent the afternoon and early evening “nesting” i.e getting organized. Two lengthy walks around the neighborhood, one looking for lunch and the next for grocery stores. All necessary amenities nearby due to all the apartments and homes in the area. Canals all around, lots of people on the busy streets and the primary mode of transportation - the 🚴! They are everywhere!!!

    Working hard to stay awake to 9P tonight. The usual jet lag, will see how long it lasts. I slept about 5 hours on the airplane which is better than usual for me.

    Not much for pics today. Caught the little bit of sun there was today. Time to organize tomorrow.

    PS: Most expensive bottle of wine I could find at the grocery store was 6 Euros. ($6.62) US. Any port in a storm. 😂
    Read more