Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Amsterdam Keukenhof Gardens Day 3

    April 27, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☁️ 57 °F

    Woke up this AM to a day with bright sunshine! My primary reason for coming to Amsterdam was to visit Keukenhof Gardens at tulip time. I, purposely, did not make reservations from CA as I wanted to go on a sunny day. Rain and clouds expected the remainder of my stay so I got up, made on-line reservations, had breakfast, and off I went. A bus and ferry ride to the meeting place. The Gardens are about 35 minutes from Central Amsterdam, I bought a combo bus/entry ticket. Easy travel.

    Keukenhof Gardens are world renowned for their display of 🌷. They are only open 8 weeks a year; mid March to mid May. I had seen many pictures of lovely gardens but the reality is indescribably beautiful! Whatever superlatives I put in this blog, nothing will do the beauty justice. I spent 4 hours there!!! First of all it is huge, 7.5 acres. While this is a holiday weekend, beginning today in Holland, there were a lot of people there. (King Willem - Alexander’s Bday). The venue does an amazing job in being able to accommodate large crowds. Miles of meandering paths, water features abound, and unending amazing displays of flowers allow for spreading out the crowds. While tulips are are the predominant flower, many other Spring flowers; hyacinths, narcissus, bluebells, enhance the views around every corner.

    Restaurants of every cuisine, well-appointed gift stores and numerous indoor exhibits dot the landscape. No shortage of benches to relax and enjoy the views, in all it could not have been a better day. A “must see”for any flower-loving traveler. Retraced steps to return home. Got off the bus a stop early to check out the extended neighborhood. A stop at the grocery store for a frozen pizza and a beer for “dinner” .
    Note: the beer is better than the grocery store wine). 😂.
    Read more