Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Vienna to Bratislava, Slovakia Day 39

    June 3, 2023 in Slovakia ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Another travel day. Retrieved my car from the car park ($18 for 4 days!) and then back to get ML & R and take them to the train station for their next stop - Budapest. I am on my way to Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia, only an hour east of Vienna. Had a few things to do before leaving Vienna, get gas, go back,to,the hotel I stayed at the first night here and pick up my electric toothbrush that I left there, and one more tourist stop in Vienna - the Hundertwasser House. (Really an apartment building). I had visited this delightfully amusing site on my last trip to Vienna many years ago. The building was built by Hundertwasser, an artist/architect in the 1980’s and incorporates his thinking on how architecture and nature can coexist. The building has almost no straight lines and 250 trees and bushes incorporated in the terraces, It currently houses 53 apartments and 4 offices. It’s hard to get a good picture, the video is better.

    I had some time to kill before I could check in to my apartment. Had looked at a map, saw a large lake only about 20 miles out of the way and headed there - Neusiedler am See. It was the perfect tranquil, peaceful lake setting, a few cafes, small hotel and comfortable seating around for all. I picked up some lunch and just and relaxed and decompressed after 2 and a half weeks of traveling with others and a very busy travel schedule.

    On to my new home for the next 3 nights, a beautiful apartment on the 27th floor of a modern high rise building in Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia - a new country for me! Spent some time to settle in and the out for a walk. The Danube river runs through Bratislava as well as Vienna on its way to its end in the Black Sea running thru 10 countries and 1,770 miles. And it’s a 5 minute walk from my back door. A fun walk along the river with all of the families enjoying a beautiful Saturday afternoon. A 6 mile path with lots of open space, trees and grass, playgrounds for kids and cafes lining the route. Home for dinner tonight, pasta, as usual, and Netflix in English! 😂
    Read more