Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Bratislava-St Wolfgang, Austria Day 42

    June 6, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    Another travel day. I am wending my way back to Geneva. It’s about 12 hours driving from Bratislava and am planning on breaking the trip up into three 4-5 hour driving days. Today from Bratislava to St. Wolfgang See (Lake), Austria. Arrived here around 2PM and my room was ready. Will use hotels from now on. Great place here - first floor room with a deck looking out on the lake. Back in the Alps again so wonderful mountains all around. Had only planned to stay here 2 nights but have asked them if they have the room for another night. I have been in this area before but not at this lake. It’s the Austrian Lake District about 25 miles from Salzburg. Think “Sound of Music scenery. (It was filmed in this area).

    After I got settled, I walked downtown, found the grocery store to pick up breakfast stuff as there is a small kitchen in my room. Also stopped at the tourist office for some hiking information. Came back to do some planning for tomorrow, I want to hike ib these beautiful hills. Tomorrow is only day that showers are not expected.

    Went for another walk by the lake before dinner. Lots of boats, paddle boards, and kayaks. The village has lots of shops and cafes. Cute town. Went to dinner at the hotel next door and it was very good. First time I have been out for dinner in awhile - had an excellent steak, and then a walk down the street for ice cream! 😂
    Read more