Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Delhi albeit fleetingly

    January 26 in India ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Only stayed one night in Delhi. Note to self : never travel on Republic Day ! Security is mega tight and common sense is non existent. Anything goes.

    They scanned my bag three times, in Madurai and made me take anything metal out. And I mean everything ! Clips, tin box, paintbrushes. He tipped the contents of my pencil case out, opened my fountain pen, and nearly confiscated my tea! That really would have been the end of the world. I think he was more curious after the second bag scan. I finally showed him my sketch book. I’m not sure what he thought but he half smiled and finally gave up on me.

    And we won’t even talk about bag scans before check in - thankfully no dirty knickers on show whilst searching for elusive battery pack or whatever they decided I should extract. In fact it was my head torch. Still politeness ruled and we had quite a good banter.

    It was cold in Delhi. Looking forward to maybe exploring on my last day.

    Crazy selection at breakfast. Italian cheeses - albeit with wrong spelling and crazy donut display. Wonder what they do with the left overs !
    Read more