Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Snakes and Elephants.

    January 31 in India ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    I had the best experience with the rescue elephants at Dera Amer today.

    I made two new friends today. Lakshmi and ‘Colourful Garlands’ Must look up her name. Something Mala, I think. They were gentle, graceful, majestic and could certainly teach me a thing or two about being in the moment. Content just to be together in the shade. Lakshmi complaining only when the unfortunate camel came too close. Also a rescue. Their mahouts encouraging them to eat their greens as a parent consoles a toddler. I could have sat for hours content in their company. Good to share the experience with my guide and driver. Glad they came to meet my new friends. Quite a wrench leaving. On my part anyhow.

    I lie - I made three friends. There was Carlos too. Spying me with his beady eye but content to be petted on his terms only. I guess one doesn’t get up close and personal with a cobra too often!

    Amber Palace beautiful. Again blown away by the scale and majesty of these grand buildings.
    Read more