Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Texas hot is a whole new beastie!

    May 29, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 88 °F

    Daaang!! Sweaty! Because the Potters are in such a nice community and neighbors were out and about, we did not want to run the generator last night. For those of you who don’t understand the ramifications of that… No air-conditioning! When we went to bed it was 93° in the van. Let’s just say you should envision naked starfish on top of the sheets! Thank God we have a king size bed in here because we wanted to be nowhere near each other!!!
    This morning we drove all along the lake and checked out communities and campgrounds.
    Headed into New Braunfels and had some lunch at a local brewery.
    Checked out the town of Gruene, which is on the Guadalupe River. John was so sweet. He was encouraging me to do a little shopping, but I was so damn sweaty that I wasn’t enjoying myself. Wanted to dunk my head when we walked down to the river edge. Really cute little town, but you would not have believed the amount of people. I asked the shop owner if it was because it was memorial day weekend and she replied, “No, it’s because it’s summer. It will be like this every weekend now.” Too crazy busy for my liking. The water sure was beautiful though.

    We scored a campsite on Canyon Lake for three days tomorrow. We can’t wait to get on the water!
    Read more