Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Exploring Oban

    August 27, 2015 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    3:00 pm. We toured the distillery with our guide Stuart, and received two very small samples of Oban whiskey. Whiskey is still something for which I have not developed a taste. They gave us as a souvenir a little Oban Whiskey glass. I gave mine to Gil Dickson. We checked into the hotel around 5:00 pm and I went looking for the pipes and drums. A demonstration of bagpipes and drums is one of the events of the Highland games now being held in Oban. I was not able to find the pipes and drums, but did find John our bus driver repairing the window that broke when his rear view mirror got popped off by a passing RV. I took some photos of the town, then of St. Columba Catholic Church before returning to our hotel. Glenda is feeling a little better, but her nose is still running.Read more