Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Isle of Mull

    August 28, 2015 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    This morning we boarded the ferry for the 45 minute trip to the Isle of Mull. Rain on and off made clouds that gave the island and otherworldly air. We drove south to the village of Tobermory for lunch at one of the finest fish restaurants I have ever visited. I had a smoked fish plate and a glass of Sauvignon Blanc. Then we took a tour of Duart Castle, the home of Clan MacLean. It was not huge, and the chief of the MacLean clan still lives there. We drove back to the ferry and I was able to get some shots of the castle from the sea. As we came back to the ferry terminal at Oban we noticed several young men wearing kilts and formal wear. David our guide told us they were to attend the summer ball, part of the Highland games celebration in Oban. I was able to find some of these young men and women in their formal Scottish attire lined up to enter a hotel near ours, so I went to take some shots. I was still so full from lunch that I made a pretense of eating supper. Then we went back to the room for an early bedtime.Read more