Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Lovers' Point

    October 9, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    We drove out to Pacific Grove to retrace some of our old haunts. Poverty kept us very close to home when we were first married, but if you are on the Monterey Peninsula, then such a restriction can be a blessing. I learned that Pacific Grove was begun as a Methodist beachside retreat center in the early days of the last century. Now property values have skyrocketed. I found on the internet a small house on Franklin Street. I remember passing it as I walked to the Presidio each day for classes in Chinese-Mandarin. That little one-bedroom bungalow just sold for 1.4 million dollars. Pacific Grove is still beautiful. We spent some time eating our picnic lunch at Lovers' Point, and I was surprised to find a little makeshift monument to the folk singer John Denver, who died when his airplane crashed in Monterey Bay several years ago.Read more