Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 2: Is day 1 for the Kili adventure

    February 3, 2019 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    We took off at noon (Machame Gate 1,800m) and arrived at the first camp (Machame Camp 2,835m) right before 6pm - 6 hours of walking through the jungle 🌿🌱🍃. Now all the walks to work and my Alster training with all of my friends really pay off 💪🏃‍♀️ I did well until 5pm... then I got really tired and could feel pain in my legs and feet.

    But I made it! And I’m proud, because so far I’m doing great. And this body of mine really deserves a big applause - 7 vaccine shots and lots of training in January plus lots of stress, but not the slightest sign of feeling weak, falling down the stairs at Tchibo one day before take-off leaving nothing but a bruise, and now climbing this mountain with no problem adjusting to heights (so far), at a good pace and with nothing but aching feet (which is normal) 💪🏃‍♀️.

    Today’s lesson: Love and appreciate your body for what it is (i.e., healthy, strong, beautiful) and don’t shame it for what it’s not (i.e., Victoria’s Secret model 😉)

    PS: My team prepared the most delicious food tonight 🥑🥒🥔 and I have been lucky to see the most amazing sky full of stars (really, I have never seen anything like this before 💫✨⭐️).

    All in all a perfect day to be grateful for 🙏

    Asante sana!
    (Swahili, means “thanks very much”)
    Read more