Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 10: A culture of peace and happiness

    February 11, 2019 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Sorry for the late post...I’ve been busy doing nothing 🤷🏼‍♀️ 🌴🐬😎

    You know what I love about this country? The Hakuna Matata attitude (Swahili, means „no worries“ - so no it’s not just a thing invented by Disney’s Lion King). Everyone seems to be relaxed and happy.

    The best example of this is the many different tribes and religions living peacefully together in this county. Tanzania is home to more than 100 different ethnic groups and while approximately 60% of the population is Christian, there are also 35% of people following the Muslim belief (in Zanzibar it’s even more than 90%). And guess what, no war. No fights. No hate. 🙏💛

    I find this fascinating. This is not exactly a rich country measured per GDP, but still the people living here manage to set an example for the world 👍✌️

    One of the drivers I had told me that his dad is Muslim and his mom is Christian. On Sunday each of them attends a different service and the kids can chose whom to accompany until they are old enough to decide which faith to follow. I think this is fabulous. Absolutely fabulous. And I wish the rest of the world would do a better job in accepting people’s differences.

    Okay so this day was a “critical about society” day ... having nothing to do but think, these are the thoughts running through my head 😂

    PS: Simba is also Swahili language and means „Lion“...Disney apparently did a good research for their movie 🦁👌
    Read more