Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Rainy Budapest

    June 15, 2016 in Hungary ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    We got up early-ish for a guided walking tour with our guide from the day before. We saw some beautiful buildings and monuments, a statue of Ronald Reagan, and a really cool set of fountains, which have sensors and turn off when you walk through them so you can avoid getting wet - much like the rain room in the States. Wouldn't have mattered if we did get wet - we were already saturated as mother nature decided to open up the flood gates throughout the walking tour. This didn't help the fact I was already feeling a little worse for wear...
    We jumped on the subway, which is exactly like NYC's subway, in look and smell - I loved it! We got off after a couple of stops, and headed towards the House of Terror museum.
    This building was home to many atrocities throughout the 20th century. First occupied by the Hungarian Nazi's Arrow Cross Party, then between 1945-1956 it was home to notorious communist parties, ÁVO and ÁVH. Many people were tourtured and/or killed here, and the museum serves to commemorate the victims of terror, and to remind all of the awful acts of terrorist dictatorships.
    The exhibits were really well organised, however it was good we had a tour guide, as everything was written in Hungarian!
    Once we left the museum, a few people were heading to the baths, and a few of us headed back to the hostel. I was feeling truly awful at this point, so my plans for the afternoon were washing, eating and sleeping!
    I put my washing on, then sat with Ashleigh for a little bit and ate some more pizza from the shop next to the hostel (it was just as tasty sober, so that's a win!), before she headed off with Tani and Divya to the baths. I had a couple of naps, between washing and drying my clothes, and once I took them back up to the room, realised the dryer had done virtually nothing... So I had to hang my clothes up all over the room!
    Terryanne and Charlotte got back from the baths and we chilled in the rooms for a bit, before I decided I'd better go for a wander and head to a pharmacy and get some food.
    Most people were planning on heading out with Tamara, so I said goodbye and have a good night to the girls, and went in search of a pharmacy. It was a nice evening to be wandering our area solo, everyone needs a night to themselves sometimes. Helpful that the area we were staying in was quite busy, so I felt pretty safe, even as it was starting to get dark.
    I found a pharmacy, and although there was a slight language barrier, the pharmacist was really helpful, and she gave me some cold and flu tablets, but told me I couldn't take any tonight as they'd keep me awake. I assumed that means it's the good stuff, like the phamacy strength Codral back home!
    Next mission: food! There were so many bars and restaurants in our area, and I headed for one I had seen which had chicken soup... No deal, they'd run out... I figured that was a sign not to try and eat healthy, so headed to a pasta place instead. It was super tasty, and a good hearty meal was probably what I needed anyway!
    I stopped at a convenience store on the way back to the hostel for some tissues, and got back at about 9.30ish, packed my bags, and listened to some music for a while.
    Terryanne got in just as I was about to go to sleep, and she wasn't feeling well either, so we went straight to sleep!
    Read more