Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Szia Budapest, Zdravo Ljubljana

    June 16, 2016 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Sadly, I got organised and headed down to the bus to leave Budapest. Really sad I didn't get to explore more from being ill, but this is probably the first city I've really felt like I need/want to come back to, so there is always next time!!
    It was about 3 hours of sleeping before our first service stop. I shared a ham baguette with Ashleigh, and we grabbed supplies for our next stop, Lake Bled.
    Lake Bled is GORGEOUS. It was a little rainy when we arrived, so Arwen, Craig and I headed into a cafe for coffee/hot chocolate, and it was perfectly timed that the sun came out as we left.
    We found a little park bench near the water, and cracked out Arwen's Amsterdam cheese, Hungarian cherrys, and my German potato chips (in place of crackers). I really brought the fancy food to the party........
    It was delish, and we had a couple of swans and a few ducks try and join our little picnic. So much so, that once we'd packed up, the swans followed us on our way back around the lake to meet up with everyone else.
    We jumped back on the bus for the hour drive to Slovenia's capital, Ljubljana.
    After rocking to some Alanis and Blink 182 - to educate the younguns on the bus - we arrived at our hostel (Terryanne and I were roomies) and had about an hour to chill before Tamara walked us into the main city square, only about 10 minutes away. We all separated into groups, and Terryanne, Jorge, Cam, Nicole, Jono, Colin and I headed in search of a bar with a TV, to watch Germany v Poland in the soccer. We ended up at Tokyo Piknik, a faux-japanese restaurant (they had pad thai and french fries...) and had a meal and some drinks. It has become apparent that the countries with names beginning with 'Slo' are named so for a reason... Slow-venia and Slow-vakia both had very slow service at their restaurants!
    From there we all decided to head home. Terryanne and I were still feeling worse for wear, so we just chilled on our beds checking the old facebook... And fell asleep about 11pm.
    Read more