Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57–58

    montegretto terme

    November 11, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    the train ride was a huge clusterfuck. a customer service lady inspected my tickets and told me i could get onto another train and just connect from its final destination. exactly that i did, ending up in the middle of nowhere half way to my actual destination. [pic 1]

    there, the guy in the ticket booth mumbled some insults at me, presumably because there was nothing to do. had to board an intercity train and got kicked out one stop later because my tickets obviously didn't match the train i was on. found some other connections to take me to my hostel just outside padua, where i arrived with the last night bus just half an hour before the reception closed.

    when i opened the door to my 4-bed dorm and looked through the curtains of my bunk, someone looked back at me. alright, just take another one then. or don't, because there is already someone sleeping in each bunk. went back to the reception and explained the situation. apparently, the guy sleeping in my bed should've checked out the night before but just decided to stay instead. (pic number two was take around midnight and shows the entire staff absolutely befuddeled trying to work out what is going on)

    thanks to the chap in my bed, i was awarded with a free upgade to a single bed hotel suite for the night, so no hard feelings.

    the next day, i took a bus to padua and met up with muzammil, a student from pakistan libing there that had offered to show me around town. it was good fun and we found put about our common passion for techno. he proposed taking me to a rave on wednesday if i stayed in venice until then, and i just couldn't refuse.
    Read more