Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Friday in Santiago

    July 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    We slept in air conditioning and cozy beds at the lovely Airas Nunes by Pousadas de Compostela. Our tiny street balcony had a view of the cathedral spire, but with the doors closed, it was very quiet. They were very helpful. We had dropped off our backpacks before check-in the day before. They had a locker for us to store them after check-out on Friday. We had a lovely breakfast right next door.

    We sauntered over to buy tickets to go up the cathedral tower and visit the cathedral museums. Note: if you purchase the tickets online the day before, you avoid long lines. (How many times do we need to learn that lesson?) Nonetheless our tour (Spanish only) began at 11:30 am.

    To hear about the tour, I suggest you read my brother’s post! After climbing many stairs, Our tour group jauntily walked out into the sunshine on the roof of the cathedral! I tried, really tried, to follow, but I could not. I get panicky right now just writing about it! I’ve had issues with height before, but I always try to go forward. This time, no. I abandoned the tour and waited for Charles downstairs. (See photo of me clinging to the wall!) I was able to enjoy the (indoor) permanent exhibit.

    We had a divine lunch and then went shopping. I don’t usually have someone to shop with as I make decisions about gifts-this was fun. Charles surprised me with a lovely pair of shell earrings in thanksgiving for joining him on the trip. He made us both cry. I’m not sure I can ever take them off.

    After grabbing our backpacks from the locker we headed by taxi to the Porto bus station. I had a miserable 3 hour ride. I slept, but the seats were uncomfortable and my feet began to swell. I wouldn’t recommend it, but it did get us to Porto on time.

    We decided last week to book Feel Porto Codeçal for our last night in Portugal. It was the same room we stayed in our first night in Portugal. There was something lovely about returning to the same apartment where we began. Two weeks ago, we walked up the stairs toward the cathedral, got our stamp, and began our Camino. This time, we walked down the stairs and waited under the bridge for our taxi to the airport. Familiarity? Closure? Satisfaction of a a job well done? I’m not sure just now. But it felt right.
    Read more