Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Traveling home

    July 9, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    The trip home began with a quick, easy flight out of Porto to London Heathrow. While standing in an endless security line, British Airways changed our NYC flight to the next day! Very long story short, we went standby and made it to NYC the same day, though our luggage (backpacks and gifts!) is still in London. My brother Jerry, his wife Ana, their daughter Jerianne, and other NYC family members threw us a “congratulations peregrines” party. What a way to return!

    The travel day tested my patience with myself and with others. But little moments of joy pushed through the obstacles-we got our “premium economy” seats with extra leg room; we saw other travelers happy to have made the flight; the airline food was not bad at all; I slept on the plane. Small things that add up to many blessings.

    Though this Camino with Charles is over, I think it will impact my life for some time. We have stories to share and foot doctor appointments to schedule. Thanks to everyone for sharing our journey. Who will be next to go on this pilgrimage? Buen Camino!
    Read more