Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Verzy 15 miles

    July 31, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    Strange things, feet. Yesterday I was pretty happy with progress and it was a 22 mile day. Today, just 15 miles, so why are they about as sore as they have ever been? This isn’t the sort of pain from blisters which you get when pressing on the blister, this is the sort of pain you get inside the foot when you take your weight off it. It can come on hours after you have stopped walking. Suspect that part of the problem is my shoes. Very lightweight and great for road walking. But walking on small stones is not so good. Think I am bruising the soles of my feet. Very tender.

    Day of two halves. After a keek in Reims cathedral the rest of the morning was spent walking along beside a canal. In the afternoon I was up in rolling hills, through vineyards, on small, stony paths. Ouch.

    Met the usual “shop shut for annual holidays” stuff today and I think it will be increasingly common for shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Just to add variety, tonight’s accommodation is in a small village with one restaurant which is closed today because it is a Monday. At least there was a small grocer where I bought a slab of mediocre lasagne.

    I was warned that tomorrow’s village doesn’t have any shops so I have bought a tin of Ravioli to carry all day and then at least I will have some tea.

    I nearly had company tonight. Apparently, a lady phoned this morning and booked but then phoned back later and cancelled. There appears to only be one bedroom which has a double bed and a camp bed. My hostess said that I have to use the camp bed because I am only paying a pilgrim rate. So, was this lady going to be using the double bed? Seems very chummy to me. Maybe she had second thoughts about it also. But really is it that much different than a mixed dormitory and they are not unusual?
    Read more