Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Conde-sur-Marne 12 miles

    August 1, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Was looking forward to a short day but noticed that check in for the next place was at 6pm and I was expected to leave this morning by 9.30am with nothing of any note in-between. Even walking really slowly I was going to have to spend 3 hours sitting beside a canal. After discussing the problem with my host she offered to phone to ask if could get in earlier. Ended up anytime after 2pm would be fine. Made all the difference to the day.

    Couple of hours walking in the forest this morning followed by a couple of hours along the canal in the afternoon. Very pleasant. Arrived about 2.30pm. Showered, got plenty of washing done and put my feet up before 4pm. Gave me hours to look forward to my tea. The best that can be said about that is at least I don’t have to carry it tomorrow.

    The “missing” lady turned up to stay but at least in this place we have separate bedrooms. She is walking from Glasgow to Rome, pulling a trailer. Words fail me.
    Read more