Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Saint-Germain-la-Ville 17 miles

    August 2, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌬 20 °C

    Met my Glaswegian pilgrim over breakfast. Have to say her trailer looks grand. If I had to pull a trailer for 2,000 miles along roads it would be the one I would choose. It’s just that I wouldn’t ever want to do that. Most of you think I am not quite the full shilling doing my walk but believe me I am not even in the same ball-park as this one. It is difficult to know where to start but the obvious one is she pretty much has to go on roads. Very few paths are a good enough surface for the trailer. When walking on roads perceived wisdom is one walks facing the oncoming traffic so that, if required, one can try and get off the road very quickly. Sometimes barriers, walls, hedges etc make this well-nigh impossible but one does one’s best. With a trailer that would not be possible so she walks on the other side of the road. Effectively acting like a very slow, and relatively wide, bike. Completely trusting traffic coming up behind her to take avoiding action. Not for me. Have to say it has worked for her so far and she did walk down from Glasgow. The bit that really tickles me though is she works as a Health and Safety consultant.

    My closing thought before turning in last night was that the charges in the chamber d’hote were 55€ for a single room or 70€ for a double. We could each have saved 20€ if we had shared a room. Maybe next time.

    Very wet morning walk along beside the canal so we decided to walk together and blether. Did make for a very pleasant change from Desert Island Discs I have to say. Arrived in Chalons-en-Champagne in time for a late lunch and we ended up in an African restaurant for chicken and rice. Very nice too. Think it might be just about my first proper lunch on this trip. Parted company after lunch as she was staying the night there whereas I had another 6 or 7 miles to go.

    Afternoon spent in sun, walking along beside the canal, with 45-50mph gusting wind blowing through the trees the other side of me from the canal. Leaves and bits of tree constantly being blown down. Felt really wild. A couple of trees had fallen and there were already wood-cutters at work to clear the path. Was feeling quite apprehensive when suddenly a tree seemed to fall on to me. Sent me flying, landing on one hip and my back which was protected by the rucksack but luckily the tree had actually fallen against another tree and it was only some branches that had taken me out. Heck of a fright though and I still had 4 or 5 miles to walk staring up at the trees in case of a repeat.

    Arrived at the next village, found the chambre d’hote and discovered that although they can do evening meals they needed to have been booked in advance. No-where else available so thank goodness I got that lunch. Could really do with some chocolate though. Hey ho. Roll on breakfast.
    Read more