Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Connemara, Ireland

    September 22, 2016 in Ireland ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    9/13 I love looking at peat bogs. I'm not sure why. Maybe because they seem to be part of so many mysteries set in Ireland. We drove past quite a few today on our way to Killarney Harbor where we took a little cruise on the water. There were a lot of well organized buoys we found out were for mussel farming. The sun even made an appearance!
    Then we went on to one of my top 2 must see destinations, Kylemore Abbey. It's in the hills beside a pretty lake. I had a poster of it a long time ago, then got to take my own picture from the same point of view years later. It's changed some since then, and was very different seeing it in the sun! I had fun walking through the gardens with Lara and Kelly. I don't recall going through the castle last time I was there, so it was pretty cool. Lunch was good too!
    Our afternoon T&T stop was at the Connemara Marble factory. I had no idea there were so many different kinds with so many different patterns! Can you spot the dog?
    It was wierd seeing the sun that day. It made the countryside pretty instead of mysterious. I'm a fan of both!
    It wasn't part of the tour but we went to a show that night. The guide hyped it so much we couldnt miss it. It was put on by several people who weread a big part of the Riverdance show. They didn't let us take pictures 😐 They had music and dancers, including the male and female national champions! The guide wasn't kidding, the show was amazing! Afterwards we met the guitar player and producer. His name was Chris Kelly so it was an instant "thing". He seemed to get a kick out of it and wanted to take pictures with us, so we obliged.
    What a jam packed day!
    Read more