Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Ring of Kerry, Ireland

    September 22, 2016 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    9/15 A lot of us didn't know what to expect this day. We knew it would be a lot of driving, but didn't know much else. It turned out to be one of my favorite days. The scenery was amazing! We took a lot of photo stops and I got some wonderful pictures. I didn't know there were so many lakes! They described an old Norman farming practice called something I don't remember, but basically it was a fortified stone ring they would drive all their livestock into at night so they couldn't be stolen. Pretty cool!
    We went to Valentia Island, which had the Skellig Experience (real name!). It was the jumping off point for touring these remote and seriously rough islands where there was once a monestary. It was a 6 hour tour so we didn't get to go. But the other draw was that one of those islands was used filming some scenes from the current star wars series! They were really playing it up too, lots of merchsndising.
    I got some pictures of colored buildngs on the water across the bay. They weren't the buildings I was looking for but they were colorful none the less. We stopped at a little village for ice cream where I got some cool pics of pubs and stuff. The ice cream shop was called Annie's, so I got a picture of that and put it on a postcard for my niece.
    We went to Muck Ross house in Killarney that evening. I don't remember much about it but do know it had beautiful grounds and gardens where we had fun playing gnomes. They also have a fab weaving company and their hats are very popular. I bought one!
    After a long day in the bus we really enjoyed the hot tub!
    Read more